Memorial Day Blues

Please take that literally. This was what I woke up to:

I realized that no traditional Memorial Day funsies would be had, especially once it started to rain sideways. So naturally Boo and I indulged in our favorite “Day of Boredom and Laziness” activities:

Brunch. It really IS the best meal of the week.

Catching up on GIRLS and Louie. Or whatever TV show we’re currently pirating.

Painting my nails…. really that one is just for me…

Wine. period.

Diablo….. eehhh you guessed it, that’s his thing. I was busy liquefying my brain cells with 50 Shades of Grey (so naughty!)

We then spent the next 3 hours in the office: His back to me as he destroyed the netherworld, me sprawled across the loveseat lost in sexy time with Christian Grey and Ana Steele. I must say, that is one of my most pleasant discoveries of a long term relationship: Learning to be together and maintaining your separateness. It allows you to spend time with your partner while deliciously maintaining a level of selfishness. You’re not plagued by compromise. You’re not deciding what to do, together. You don’t waste time wondering if he really wanted to watch that romantic comedy, or if Dark Knight would have been preferred….even though we’ve seen it hundreds of times… oh wait, that’s a no brainer. DUH. It’s a wonderful elevation of your intimacy. Pouring rain outside and a full glass of sauvignon blanc are merely the cherries on top of a sundae.

Oh, and then we met up with our besties and barbequed in the rain. That’s how we role in FL. Not gonna let a tropical storm f**k up your fun.

Current Jam: Mumford and Sons “The Cave”

Leave a Reply

