That Shit is POWERFUL.

My top 5 favorite heartbreak songs and their lyrics. In no particular order. I know that may seem like a weird, depressing top 5 to have. Why not love songs, you ask? Well, my favorite songs are ones that quake my soul. They pull my heart strings (heh), even in the best of moods. I guess I’m a poetic wuss that way.

 

1) Mumford & Sons

“I Gave You All”

Rip the earth in two with your mind
Seal the urge which ensues with brass wires
I never meant you any harm
But your tears feel warm as they fall on my forearm
But close my eyes for a while
Force from the world a patient smile
How can you say that your truth is better than ours?
Shoulder to shoulder, now brother, we carry no arms
The blind man sleeps in the doorway, his home
If only I had an enemy bigger than my apathy I could have won
But I gave you all

Close my eyes for a while
Force from the world a patient smile

But I gave you all

But you rip it from my hands
And you swear it’s all gone
And you rip out all I have
Just to say that you’ve won

Well now you’ve won

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2) Alkaline Trio
“Goodbye Forever”
Take your wings outside, you can’t fly in here
Besides, a purple sky is better soaring for you my angel
You’re angel, you little devil
As for me I’ll stay inside
I’ll be just fine and I’ll watch from the window.
Cannot categorize the nature of this sickness
a miracle that you’re alive-
Stuck to the roof of my mouth with a staple.
Remember last april when we saw u.s. maple?
Somehow the singer showed the fireside exactly how i feel.

And we say goodbye, and go underground
Or up towards the sky, up in smoke, burnt down to size.
At least we’re still friends.
At least we’re still alive.

Take your wings outside,
No use for them in here.
Bad luck to open inside, work like umbrellas, like a broken mirror.
It’s getting clearer-
The end is closer than ever before and you’ll want nothing more
Then your head hits the floor, and you’re lost in the darkness.

And we say goodbye and go underground.
Or up towards the sky,
Up in smoke, burnt down to size.
At least we’re still friends.
At least we’re still alive.

And we say goodbye and go underground.
Or up towards the sky,
Up in smoke, burnt down to size.
At least we’re still friends.
At least we’re still alive.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
3) Band of Horses
“No One’s Gonna Love You”
It’s looking like a limb torn off
Or altogether just taken apart
We’re reeling through an endless fall
We are the ever-living ghost of what once was
But no one is ever gonna love you more than I do
No one’s gonna love you more than I do

And anything to make you smile
It is my better side of you to admire
But they should never take so long
Just to be over then back to another one

But no one is ever gonna love you more than I do
No one’s gonna love you more than I do

But someone,
They could have warned you
When things start splitting at the seams and now
The whole thing’s tumbling down
Things start splitting at the seams and now
If things start splitting at the seams and now,
It’s tumbling down
Hard.

Anything to make you smile
You are the ever-living ghost of what once was
I never want to hear you say
That you’d be better off
Or you liked it that way

But no one is ever gonna love you more than I do
No one’s gonna love you more than I do

But someone
They should have warned you
When things start splitting at the seams and now
The whole thing’s tumbling down
Things start splitting at the seams and now
If things start splitting at the seams and now,
It’s tumbling down
Hard

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
4) Laura Marling
“Ghosts”
He walked down a busy street
Staring solely at his feet
Clutching pictures of past lovers at his side
Stood at the table where she sat
And removed his hat
In respect of her presence
Presents her with the pictures and says
“These are just ghosts that broke my heart before I met you.
These are just ghosts that broke my heart before I met you”
Opened up his little heart
Unlocked the lock that kept it dark
And read a written warning
Saying I’m still mourning
Over ghosts
Over ghosts
Over ghosts
Over ghosts that broke my heart before I met you
[Chorus]
Lover, please do not
Fall to your knees
It’s not
Like I believe in
Everlasting love
He went crazy at nineteen
Said he’d lost all his self esteem
And couldn’t understand why he was cry, cry, crying, crying.

He would stare at empty chairs
Think of the ghosts that once sat there
The ghosts who broke his heart.
All the ghosts that broke my heart
The ghosts that broke his heart
All the ghosts that broke my heart
The ghosts, the ghosts, the ghosts, the ghosts,
The ghosts, the ghosts
The ghosts that broke my heart before I met you

[Chorus]

He says “I’m so lost,
Not at all well”
Do as though there is nothing left to be
Turned out I’d been following him and he’d been following me
Do as though after it was over
We were just two lovers crying on each others shoulders
And I said

[Chorus: x2]

~~~~~~~~~~
5) Postal Service
“Nothing Better”
Will someone please call a surgeon
Who can crack my ribs and repair this broken heart
That you’re deserting for better company?
I can’t accept that it’s over…
And I will block the door like a goalie tending the net
In the third quarter of a tied-game rivalry
So just say how to make it right
And i swear I’ll do my best to comply
Tell me am i right to think that there could be nothing better
Than making you my bride and slowly growing old together
I feel I must interject here you’re getting carried away feeling sorry for yourself
With these revisions and gaps in history
So let me help you remember.
I’ve made charts and graphs that should finally make it clear.
I’ve prepared a lecture on why i have to leave

So please back away and let me go
I can’t my darling i love you so…

Oh, oh

Tell me am i right to think that there could be nothing better
Than making you my bride and slowly growing old together
Don’t you feed me lines about some idealistic future
Your heart won’t heal right if you keep tearing out the sutures

I know that I have made mistakes and i swear
I’ll never wrong you again
You’ve got a lure i can’t deny,
But you’ve had your chance so say goodbye
Say goodbye

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Go on, go cry your eyes out. I won’t tell.

Leave a Reply

