Oh Em Gee

So I visited my sister this past weekend in Jax. On the way back, I needed some tunes. Something I hadn’t heard in a while. I sifted through a mountain of oooold mixed and burned CDs and found the holy grail: A mix I made for my 19th Birthday (for perspective, I am now 26; 19 feels worlds away). It was titled “Got the rainy day blues? Nothin’ a grilled cheese and a Yoohoo won’t fix!” (Yes I ‘name’ my CD’s with poinant quotes). This particular one was a reference to the 2004 Hurricane season.

Here is the track list, a mixture of poppy punk and reggae stoner music, with some randoms thrown in:

1. “Damn it Feels Good to be a Gangsta” – Geto Boys

2. “No Tomorrow” – The Blackouts (aka now The Living Blue)

3. “Hey jealousy” – Gin Blossoms

4. “Little Sister” – Queens of the Stone Age

5. “Bonzo goes to Bitburg” – The Ramones

6. “Paint it Black” – The Stones

7. “We be Burnin'” – Sean Paul (that’s right.)

8. “I’ll be here awhile” – 311

9. “I get around” – Beach Boys

10. “No woman no cry” – Bob Marley and the Whalers

11. “How” – The Cranberries

12. “Nothin from somethin” – The Offspring (my obsession in highschool)

13. “Bad Moon Rising” – CCR

14. “I Slept With Someone In Fall Out Boy And All I Got Was This Stupid Song Written About Me” – Fall Out Boy (again, THAT’S RIGHT.)

15. “Lemon” – Katy Rose

16. “Do you miss me?” – Lucky Boys Confusion (had a huge chick boner for this singer)

17. “No cigar” – Millencolin

18. “Dirty Magic” – The Offspring

19. “Turn a square” – The Shins

20. “Bad Fish” – Sublime

21. “Werewolves of London” – Warren Zevon

 

Oh memories.

Leave a Reply

