An Open Letter to My Liver

Dear Liver,

I’m sorry man. I know I’ve taken you for some wilder rides before, but still, I’ve definitely abused your precious gifts the past weekend or two. I’ve forced you to filter way too much, and deal with way too much variety. Granted, you’ve done your best. You’ve tried to keep up with me, although sometimes you simply couldn’t. I get it. I had a lot to celebrate the past few weeks: halfway done with my master’s, my dad’s birthday, reconciling with one of my ex’s, a new cute boy. You know me, sometimes I overindulge. But I’m proud of you. You did one hell of a job. Don’t worry, I’m gonna take it easy on you for a bit….

Because for all you do for me, I’m becoming a bit of a douche when I get uber drunk. That’s not cool, and that’s not your fault. I’m of an age now where I’m re-assessing my true limits. It’s a learning curve, for sure, and I’ve made some mistakes. I made a bit of an ass of myself in that I celebrated more than my Pops, and I was a bit obnoxious. So really, this is an open letter to my Da too:

Sorry Dad. I know you love me unconditionally, but when I think back on my actions over your birthday dinner, I am a little ashamed. It was supposed to be a day to celebrate you, and I made it a lot about me. It was unintentional. I didn’t mean to drink as much as I did, it kind of turned into a snowball rolling down a hill. Definitely not one of my prouder moments. I think I just wanted to celebrate the final release of tension from a really difficult semester, but that wasn’t fair to you. Regardless of my crappy drunkenness, I hope you still had a good birthday. You and Mom have made me into a confident, strong woman with ambition, but I’m not perfect. Everyone’s got a few cracks, I guess I just let ’em show too much sometimes. I love you both with all my heart, and I’m sorry.

I don’t want you to worry, though. I’m okay. I worry sometimes you have an inaccurate picture of my life because most of the time that you see me it’s for a celebratory reason, and I like to celebrate. I like to drink socially. But I’m okay, in fact after the last few months I’m getting better and better everyday. I can’t wait to see you again and share all the adventures I’ve been having and will have in the next couple weeks. ‘Til we meet again, know that I love you and I’ll always be ready to hear your next favorite song.

Love, L’s

Current Jam: “Stubborn Love” The Lumineers

Leave a Reply

